2024 Women in Neuroradiology Leadership Award PROSPECTUS

DESCRIPTION

In 2012, the Foundation of the American Society of Neuroradiology (FASNR), American College of Radiology (ACR), and American Association for Women Radiologists (AAWR) established an award to provide leadership opportunities for women in neuroradiology. Since neuroradiologists must be leaders in the field, the primary focus of this award mechanism is to support **mid-career women** with some demonstrated experience and promise for leadership in radiology through administration, education, research and/or practice. The objectives are to provide the award recipient with additional skills and insights to enhance opportunities for advancement.

The award recipient will receive funding to cover tuition and transportation costs to attend the **2024 Radiology Leadership Institute (RLI) Summit**, September 6-8, 2024 at the Seaport Hotel in Boston. All other expenditures will be at the expense of the award recipient. Click <u>here</u> to learn more about the 2024 RLI Summit.

ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS

Applicants must have a MD degree or DO degree, plus subspecialty certification in Neuroradiology, or its equivalent for international candidates. Applicants must have demonstrated some experience and promise for leadership in radiology and must be a current member in good standing of ASNR, ACR, and AAWR at the time of submission.

APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS

All applications should include (*applications will only be accepted electronically; no hard copy documents by mail or fax will be accepted*):

- A. Completed application form.
- B. Current curriculum vitae
- C. Statement from the applicant that describes the applicant's career goals and objectives. Applicant should describe their professional aspirations and goals for attending the 2024 RLI Summit. Applicant should also include a brief description of other local or national leadership conferences attended.
- D. Two (2) letters of support from academic chair, section chief, group president/CEO, medical director, or practice leader and in addition from any leader outside of the applicant's department or practice but relevant to leadership area of interest.
- E. Deadline for receipt of applications and required documentation is 9:00 AM Central Standard Time (CST), Wednesday, March 27, 2024. Late applications will not be accepted. Applications and required documentation must be submitted electronically (in .pdf or .doc format) to Theresa Espinosa at tespinosa@asnr.org. On the subject line, indicate *Women in Neuroradiology Leadership Award*.

AWARD SELECTION PROCESS

- A. Selection of the award recipient will be in May 2024, with subsequent notification of the award recipient. All those with interest in the award, or employees of an institution that may be involved in the award, shall recuse themselves from the selection process.
- B. Announcement of the award will be made on the Foundation of the ASNR and promoted to all ASNR members. This will be followed by announcement on the ACR and AAWR websites.
- **C.** The recipient will be invited to the President's Gala at the ASNR 63rd Annual Meeting in Philadelphia, PA, in May 2025.

METHOD OF NOMINATION

- A. Award will be designated and administered by The Foundation of the American Society of Neuroradiology.
- B. The selection of the recipient will be made by the Review Committee, which consists of the Co-Chairs of the Foundation of the ASNR as well as reviewers from both the ACR and the AAWR.

POST RLI SUMMIT

Within six (6) months of attending the 2024 RLI Summit, the award recipient must submit a brief written summary detailing how attending the 2024 RLI Summit assisted in their professional development, insights gained, etc. *Summaries may be published on the Foundation of the ASNR website and in other promotional communications supported by the ASNR, ACR and AAWR.*

PAST WOMEN IN NEURORADIOLOGY LEADERSHIP AWARD RECIPIENTS

2023- NIKDOKHT (NIKY) FARID, UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN DIEGO
2022-ORIT A. GLENN, MD, UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO
2021-LUBDHA SHAH, MD, MS UNIVERSITY OF UTAH, SALT LAKE CITY, UTAH
2020- TABASSUM A, KENNEDY, MD UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN, MADISON
2019-ACHALA VAGAL, MD, MS- UNIVERSITY OF CINCINNATI MEDICAL CENTER, CINCINNATI, OHIO
2018- Tammie Benzinger, MD- Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis, Missouri
2017- Alyssa T. Watanabe, MD- USC School of Medicine, Manhattan Beach, California
2016- Amy Kotsenas, MD- Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minnesota
2015- Erin Simon Schwartz, MD- Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2014- Yvonne W. Lui, MD- NYU School of Medicine, New York, New York
2013- Pina C. Sanelli, MD, MPH- North Shore-LIJ Health System, Manhasset, New York
2012- Noriko Salamon, MD, PhD- University of California, Los Angeles, Los Angeles, California