Outstanding Contributions in Research Award

PURPOSE: This award recognizes Neuroradiologists who have demonstrated consistent excellence and lifelong accomplishment in basic or clinical neuroscience research, particularly funded research from the NIH, NSF, March of Dimes, etc.

ELIGIBILITY: Nominees should be a Senior ASNR member, fifty years of age or older, with long-term achievements in clinical or basic research.

NOMINATIONS: A call for electronic nominations is sent in the summer. Letters of nomination are submitted electronically. They must include one or two paragraphs of support (indicating what the nominee has accomplished). If possible, a CV of the nominee should be provided, if it does not compromise the confidentiality of the nomination. Confidentially is essential. If possible, the candidate should not be aware of his/her nomination.

DEADLINE FOR NOMINATIONS: The deadline for electronic nominations is in the fall.

EXCLUSIONS: Current Officers of the Society, members of the Executive Committee, and members of the Foundation of the ASNR Board of Trustees, and Foundation of the ASNR Outstanding Contributions in Research Award Committee are ineligible for nomination.

OUTSTANDING CONTRIBUTIONS IN RESEARCH AWARD COMMITTEE: The recipient of this award will be selected by a group composed of the recipient of the previous year’s award (as Chair), a senior Past-President with a strong research background, Chair of the Foundation of the ASNR Board of Trustees (ex-officio), and Co-Chairs of the ASNR Research Committee. The committee would submit their recommendation to the Foundation of the ASNR Board of Trustees for a final decision.

AWARD PRESENTATION AND ACKNOWLEDGEMENT: A plaque is presented to the recipient during the President’s Appreciation Dinner held during the ASNR Annual Meeting.

Grant Recipients


Mayank Goyal, MD, PhD, FRCPC
University of Calgary, Canada


David F. Kallmes, MD
Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minnesota

Santiago Medina sculpture


Thomas A. Tomsick, MD


Jeffrey G. Jarvik, MD, MPH


Carolyn C. Meltzer, MD, FACR


Colin P. Derdeyn, MD


Charles M. Strother, MD


William P. Dillon, MD


Robert A. Zimmerman, MD


Thomas P. Naidich, MD


Victor M. Haughton, MD


R. Gilberto Gonzalez, MD, PhD


A. James Barkovich, MD


Clifford R. Jack, MD


No Award Given


Dixon M. Moody, MD


Robert I. Grossman, MD